• Italiano
  • From Research to Innovation

  • Innovative solutions for unconventional problems

  • Tailor-made solutions for your business

[Webinar] The importance of DNA testing for seafood sourcing

WATCH THE RECORDING OF THE WEBINAR NOW!

Frauds are common and difficult to identify in the fishing industry. Valuable species can be replaced with ones less expensive, more readily available and sometimes potentially harmful to health. Furthermore the requests from consumers about sustainability and traceability of the purchased products are increasing.

Genetic method of species identification currently is the only one able to recognize, characterize and categorize the fish species which a sample belongs, especially in case of morphological similarity or after production processes.

Friend of the Sea, in collaboration with FEM2-Ambiente, has chosen to adopt the DNA Barcoding method (or DNA barcode) to avoid fraud and promote sustainable fishing.

This webinar will be of interest to seafood fisheries, seafood processing companies, retail, restaurants, NGOs, journalists and bloggers.

Speakers

Mr Paolo Bray: Founder and Director at Friend of the Sea and Friend of the Earth

Miss Jessica Frigerio: DNA Barcoding Service Manager at FEM2-Ambiente

Subjects

  • History of DNA testing and recent developments
  • Food DNA testing
  • Importance of DNA testing for sustainable seafood sourcing
  • Bicocca University DNA testing and Barcoding experience
  • Friend of the Sea and FEM2-Ambiente testing program
  • How can your company be part of the projects

This webinar will take place on Monday 11th of November 2019 at 03:00 pm in Milan, CET+ 1 (06:00 am San Francisco; 09:00 am in NewYork; 02:00 pm in London; 03:00  pm in Johannesburg; 08:00 pm in Bangkok; 09:00 pm in Hong Kong; 11:00 pm in Sidney).

Participation is free of charge.

Friend of the Sea participation certificate will be provided “to all participants”.

You will also have the opportunity to ask the speakers in the session any questions directly.

Can’t attend the live date?

Don’t worry! If you cannot attend the live session, sign up anyway and we will send you a recording.

Species  Identification  service

Species Identification
service

DNA analysis to verify the quality of raw materials or ascertain the presence or absence of specific animal, plant or bacterial species in finished and processed products.

Go to the page

Analysis of probiotics and/or prebiotics

Analysis of probiotics and/or prebiotics

Analysis and research for the evaluation of the efficacy of probiotics and prebiotics, to define, validate and improve the formulations of new and existing products such as food, beverages and supplements.

Go to the page

Avian molecular diagnostic services

Avian molecular diagnostic services

Services based on DNA testing for the identification of brid gender (male or female) and and avian diseases diagnostics (Avian Polyomavirus, Psittacine Beak and Feather Disease , Chlamydia).

Go to the page

THEY CHOSE FEM2-AMBIENTE

 

Logo Giuliano
Logo Epo
Zafferano Elenico Identificazione Genetica
amitahc Italia S.r.l.
LOGO ALPIZOO
Roelmi HPC   Logo Esteso   2016 08 05
Logo FOS Fondo Trasparente
1cf582443270320f602aba13af703a94
Provetlab Analisi Veterinarie
Sardanelli
Swedencare

CONTATTACI!

  • +39 02 64483375

    +39 02 64483375

  • info@fem2ambiente.com

    info@fem2ambiente.com

  • Piazza della Scienza 2, 20126, Milano (MI), Italy

    Piazza della Scienza 2, 20126, Milano (MI), Italy